從建築到技術

它始於一個想法、一個激情或一個意外。

然而這一次,它以一項發明告終。

Visual organizer

我早期的培訓是建築學,這個職業讓我能夠周遊世界,設計各種規模和類型的建築。我本質上是一名設計師,雖然這是一段充實的旅程,但我也一直對技術有“東西”。在 DOS 時代長大,我記得我如何熟悉 PC 的早期記憶 - 通過不小心格式化我兄弟計算機的硬盤驅動器。

雖然我喜歡技術,但我仍然保持非常低的技術水平,我喜歡認為我的這個模擬部分在 Inclr 的開發中很重要 - 一個不尋求快速和臨時的軟件,而是試圖與心臟並以較慢的速度行走。

2015 年,我開始修改 iOS 代碼。我看到了建築如何變得越來越數字化,我對腳本可以做什麼感興趣。到 2015 年底,我發現我喜歡編碼的一個方面——不知何故,編碼讓人感到沉思,就像置身於一個安靜的“另一個世界”,遠離日常生活。在某些方面,編碼與我設計架構時類似。我每天晚上和每個午休時間都在編碼,我一有機會就在筆記本電腦上。

有一天,我創建了圓形菜單。它旨在作為我當時正在創建的設計新聞應用程序的導航菜單。我心想:“圓形是一種有趣的形狀。單維,因為它由一個點和一個半徑定義。從建築上講,它們是困難的圍牆,但是……如果……如果我將生命注入其中會怎樣?”當我指的是生命時,我指的是由生命、信息、空間、感覺、自由組成的一切。如果一切都捆綁到交互式包中,它將比我們目前擁有的、使用搜索引擎的單一數據點更好地代表生活。這就是Inclr誕生的時刻。

life planner
digital notes

數據通常是我們與當今世界相關聯的東西。形式是從建築中藉來的一個術語,是設計的可見表現形式。在科技界,這可能是 UI 和圖標。但是想一想,將藝術的悠久歷史與 UI 的短暫歷史進行比較。關於形式和功能(數據)的理論比我們在當前的 UI/UX 理論中可能探索的要多得多。

|數據 + 形式 = 情感

所有設計都使用這個等式 - 形式與功能(數據)相結合將引發情緒反應。如果你保持足夠長的時間,情緒就會變成知識和智慧,這最終會增加你的自我意識或自我認同感。

|情緒 + 數據 = 自我意識

你有沒有經歷過信息過載?也許我們會體驗到這種新現象,因為數據的結構很無聊。它沒有形式和視覺或情感邏輯。 form 與 function(data) 的交互方式說:“你不應該喜歡這些數據。所以盡量忘記它,因為它很無聊。”有了更好的形式,可消費數據變得更可口、更令人難忘,為長期記憶線索提供更有效的刺激。

Inclr 是一種設計好的數據形式。它不僅僅是一個圓形菜單。這是貫穿整個系統的設計精神。我們更進一步,添加了空間數據。為什麼?為明天的網絡空間創造更美好願景的第一步。

graphic organizer

攻殼機動隊是我長期以來最喜歡的動畫,描繪了一個視覺網絡,互聯網最終演變成一個空間網絡空間。我提出的是我們數字世界的一個版本,它是情感化的,通過直覺、圖形、空間和肌肉記憶變得有意義。不是由廣告和公司運營的網絡空間。一個建造精美的世界,一個為公眾和公眾打造的城市,一個數據世界,賦予城市基礎設施去體驗值得記住的地方。拿那個威廉吉布森...

 

 

想了解更多關於 Inclr 的起源及其概念,這裡有一些鏈接:

Chuck Frey 在 Inclr 上對我的採訪 Mindmapping軟件博客

Inclr 鏈接的美國專利 這裡

中國專利鏈接 這裡

我關於如何創建 Inclr 的演講 Pecha Kucha 講話。

Visual Organizer and  Spatial Architecture

How architecture came to invent a new way to mind map, note-take  and visually organize thoughts and ideas.

Visual organizer

My early training is in architecture, a career that has allowed me to travel across the world, designing buildings of all sizes and typologies. I’m a designer at heart and whilst it has been a fulfilling journey, I’ve also always had a ‘thing’ for tech. Growing up in the DOS era, I remember early memories of how I became familiar with the PC - by way of accidentally formatting the hard drive of my brother's computer.

Whilst I like tech, I also remain very low tech and I like to think this analog part of me has been important in the development of Inclr - a software that doesn’t seek to be quick and temporary, but rather tries to speak to the heart and walks at a slower pace.

In 2015, I began tinkering with iOS code. I saw how architecture had become increasingly more digital and I became interested in what scripts can do. By the end of 2015, I discovered I loved one aspect of coding - somehow, coding felt meditative, like being in a quiet "other world", away from the routine daily life. In some ways, coding was a similar zone to when I design architecture. I was coding every night and every lunch break, any chance I could get I’d be on the laptop.

One day I created circular menu. It was intended as a navigation menu for a design news app I was creating at time. I thought to myself, “Circles are an interesting shape. Single dimensional in that it's defined by a point and a radius. Architecturally they are difficult inclosures, but... what if... what if I put life into it?” And when I meant Life, I meant everything made up of life, information, space, feeling, freedom. If everything was bundled into interactive packages, it would represent Life better than what we currently have, singular data points with a search engine. This is the moment Inclr was born.

life planner
digital notes

Data is normally what we associate with today’s world. Form, a term borrowed from architecture, is the visible manifestation of design. In the tech world this could be the UI and the icons. But think for a minute and compare the long history of Art with the short history of UI. There’s so much more theory about form and function (data) than we can have possibly explored in current UI/UX theory.

 

|  Data + Form = Emotions

All designs play with this equation - Form coupled with Function (Data) will illicit an emotional response. Emotions then become knowledge and hopefully wisdom if you keep it long enough, which ultimately adds to your sense of self or self identity.

|  Emotions + Data = Sense of Self

Do you ever experience infomation overload? Perhaps we experience this new phenomena because the data is structured in a boring way. It is without form and visual or emotive logic. The way form plays with function(data) says, "You're not suppose to enjoy this data. So try to forget it coz it's boring." With better form, the consumable data becomes more palatable and more memorable, providing more effective stimuli for longer term memory cues. 

Inclr is a designed form of data. It's not just a circular menu. It's a design ethos baked throughout the system. We went a step further and added spatial data. Why? The first steps to creating a more beautiful vision for cyberspace for tomorrow.

graphic organizer

Ghost in the Shell, a long time favourite anime of mine, depicts a visual network, an eventual evolution of the internet into a spatial cyberspace. What I propose is a version of our digital world that is emotive and made sense through intuition, graphics, space and muscle memory. Not a cyberspace that is run by ads and corporations. A world built beautifully, a city made for the public and by the public, a world of data that is given the urban infrastructure to experience places worth remembering. Take that William Gibson...

 

 

Want to find out more about the genesis of Inclr and it’s concepts, here are some links:

Chuck Frey's Inclr interview with me on the Mindmapping Software Blog

US Patent for Inclr link here

China Patent for Inclr link here

My speech on about how Inclr was created Pecha Kucha speech.